September 28 2023


Hi, I know I haven't made an entry in a while, but here I am. I've started doing some exercising at home, just 50 pushups on one day, 50 squats the next day, and maybe 20 pullups on the third day, since pullups are pretty difficult for me right now. I think I've been doing chin-ups instead... I've been taking a philosophy class, Latin American history class, and an intro to biology class. All three are fine, I'm kinda just going through them, you know? The philosophy one I think is maybe the most interesting to me, or maybe they're all equally interesting, which doesn't necessarily mean they are interesting.

But I recently went over a philosophical argument - called the Argument from Contingency by Thomas Aquinas - that argued for the existence of God, and I kinda liked it. Take what I say with a grain of salt, but, the argument basically said that all things have their own causes, including the universe. So, the universe must have its own cause, something before the universe, something before everything else. The argument says that that thing, that "first cause", must be God.

It also spoke about infinite regress, which is pretty much this: the cause of one thing must have its own cause, and then that cause must have its own cause, and then that cause must have its own cause, and so forth. The argument said that this infinite regress of causes must be impossible, which I agree with because if there's an infinite sequence of causes that goes back in time, then there'd be no first cause, and thus nothing would happen; there wouldn't be the first cause to start everything. I guess you can think of it as like how something that's infinite, like a series of numbers, can't have an end because it's infinite. I'm still pretty agnostic though, but I guess it's nice to think about



I spent probably a few hours just thinking about career ideas. I'm pretty sure I want to major in environmental science and become an environmental scientist, particularly one that works in air quality. Environmental science seems to always come to mind when I think of potential majors when I feel lost as to what to do. Geology is another idea that I think of because of how I enjoyed my Intro to Geology course that I took this summer, but the math part discourages me from it.

Environmental science apparently doesn't have great job prospects, though. Once I left my computer, I felt stressed out from feeling lost, feeling like no major or career truly interests me. Graphic Design could be another option... since I really like to make art. I even made a fake U.S. agency emblem, something like the CIA's older emblem, with a bald eagle and all, so maybe I could go down that route...

About the job prospects for environmental scientists, I spoke to my older brother about it, and he told me that I was focusing on what's lacking, such as the amount of jobs. I think he told me to go make the jobs, to make the opportunities, and I guess networking is one way to do that. I'll pick up "How To Win Friends and Influence People" and read it, it should help with networking in the future. I'll practice whatever I learn in it